Nietzsche’s Three Stages of Life

In Nietzsche’s book Thus Spoke Zarathustra, he presents three stages in life for self-overcoming: the camel, the lion, and the child.

1. The Camel

To Nietzsche, all of us are born camels, and most of us are going to die camels. Most people who interact with the world bear the burdens of others.  A camel carries heavy stuff and it doesn’t complain, it keeps on ahead.

What sorts of burdens are tied to our backs? Nietzsche would say everything you’ve ever been told to do by somebody else, you’ve been getting weight after weight tied to your back, with people telling you all the stuff that you should do. To be free, we must get rid of these weights, to act as we truly are and say no to tradition.

Once you have unburdened yourself, you undergo a new transformation, you become the lion.

2. The Lion

For Nietzsche, the main struggle here is the existing lord, a dragon called “thou shalt”, which is the great barrier to true freedom. It sparkles with golden scales and on each scale is written a “thou shalt”, representing thousands of years of tradition. To conquer the dragon, one must build self-mastery and muster the courage to mutter the “sacred No”, asserting one’s independence outside external influences.

The final stage is the child.

3. The Child

Nietzsche states that:

“The child is innocence and forgetfulness, a new beginning, a game, a self-propelling wheel, a first motion, a sacred Yes.”

He  believed that the truly free spirit will resemble a child at play, who discovers the world for the first time, who is curious and filled with wonder. The child is not weighed down by rules and values, the child discovers for themselves the meaning in things. Having uttered the “sacred No” to reject everything that came before, the child shouts the “sacred Yes” that affirms life.

📺Watch The Full Video!🧠

Greatest Philosophers In History | Friedrich Nietzsche

Nietzsche’s main concepts on living life revolve around self-overcoming, amor fati, perspectivism, human nobility, the will to power, the eternal recurrence, and the overman.

Follow us on Social Media!

Published by Eternalised - Philosophy

Eternalised is a Philosophical Entertainer in pursuit of meaning. A mix of Existentialism, Stoicism, Buddhism, Taoism, Jungian Psychology and Classical Greek Philosophy.

One thought on “Nietzsche’s Three Stages of Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: